utorak, 1. prosinca 2009.


The Faith was an early American hardcore punk band, from Washington DC, with strong connections to the scene centered around the Dischord label.

The band formed as a four piece in the summer of 1981 and featured Alec MacKaye on vocals, former vocalist for the Untouchables, as well as Michael Hampton of State Of Alert on guitar. After recording a demo, the band released a split LP with fellow D.C. hardcore band, Void. It was released by Dischord Records, a local independent label founded by MacKaye's older brother and Minor Threat vocalist, Ian MacKaye. It featured the song "You're X'd," which addressed the straight edge philosophy popularized by Minor Threat and S.O.A.

In 1983 The Faith released an eight song twelve inch EP called "Subject to Change." It was produced by Ian MacKaye and showed the band progressing into more melodic territory with the addition of a second guitarist. Within a few months of recording the record The Faith broke up, and three out of five members went on to join Embrace with Ian MacKaye on vocals. Guitarist Eddie Janney joined Rites of Spring and later was reunited with Michael Hampton for One Last Wish. Alec MacKaye went on to sing for Ignition and then later The Warmers.

Their split LP with hardcore punk group, Void, was one of Kurt Cobain's favorite albums.



1. Aware
2. Say No More
3. Limitations
4. No Choice
5. Untitled
6. Subject to Change
7. More of the Same
8. Slowdown


Nema komentara:

Objavi komentar