srijeda, 22. srpnja 2009.


Doom were an English crust punk band from Birmingham, which were together from 1987 to 1990. Despite its short existence, the band is considered pivotal in the rise of crust punk, a style within the punk rock subgenre that fuses extreme metal with anarcho-punk. They recorded for Peaceville Records and are cited as an early precursor to the grindcore style of heavy metal music. Doom were also a favorite of BBC Radio DJ John Peel.
Doom began as The Subverters with Jon Pickering (bass/vocals), Brian Talbot (guitar) and Jason Hodges (drums). After Jason was replaced by new drummer, Mick Harris, the band changed its name to Doom.

This line up played one or two gigs, playing in a crossover metal style. Talbot and Pickering decided this wasn't the direction they wanted the band to move in. Consequently they left Harris and the metal style of music, and decided to go in a Discharge-influenced crossover thrash-style that Doom became known for. Pickering dropped bass to concentrate on vocals and Pete Nash joined as bass player. Harris left for Napalm Death so new drummer Tony 'Stick' Dickens, recently made bandless, joined after a drunken meeting at the infamous Mermaid Pub, this was when the 'real' Doom was formed. The band started rehearsing with this line-up in mid 1987.

About this time a small label called Peaceville Records was starting up. They heard about Doom through word of mouth and asked if they were interested in contributing songs to the first peaceville compilation A Vile Peace. Doom went to into the studio to record their first demo on 28 August 1987. Nash unfortunately broke his wrist just before Doom's recording debut, so bass player Jim Whitley (of Napalm Death and Ripcord fame) filled in on the recording. Three songs were recorded (two of which appeared on A Vile Peace).

On the strength of this first recording Peaceville asked Doom if they would record a full LP for them, which they agreed to do. The War is Big Business demo was recorded on 27 November 1987, which the band sold as a cassette at gigs. In February 1988, Doom went into "Rich Bitch" studios and recorded 21 songs for their debut album War Crimes (Inhuman Beings). All this time the band gigged constantly in the UK building up a following on the way. Another demo Domesday was also produced.

At the end of 1988, due to personal commitments Talbot announced that he would be leaving the band. He stayed long enough to record the split LP Bury the Debt - Not the Dead (with Swedish band No Security) on the Peaceville label. The Police Bastard EP (on discarded records) was also recorded at the same session. Doom were also invited to record two sessions for Radio One's John Peel show around this point. Talbot left the band in April 1989 after completing a lengthy European tour.

Doom continued with different guitarists, most notably with Dave Talbot who co-founded UK doom metal band Solstice with Sore Throat's vocalist Rich Walker, but did not settle with four members for long playing numerous gigs as a three piece, as Pickering turned to vocal and guitar duties. This line up continued until a final split in August 1990. Following the group's demise Pickering formed Cain, then Police Bastard, whilst drummer Stick and bassist Nash joined Extreme Noise Terror. Stick then joined DIRT and Nash joined Filthkick and Cain.

The band reformed in 1992 with the earlier line up of Talbot, Pickering, Nash and Stick. They toured Japan and recorded a 12" of new songs released on the label Vinyl Japan. This proved to be the last recording with this line up. About this point the band almost split up but Talbot and Stick decided to continue with two new members. These being Tom Croft from Genital Deformities on vocals and Paul "Mall" Mallen on bass guitar. This line up recorded the split album with Selfish and a split 7" EP with Hiatus. Mall left shortly afterwards (an amicable parting). He was replaced by bassist Scoot from Largactyl.


* War is Big Business Demo Tape (1987 Discarded Tapes)
* Police Bastard 7" (1989 Profane Existence) (More than 20,000 copies sold. Second best selling crust 7", after Aus-Rotten's "Fuck Nazi Sympathy")
* Live in Japan 7" (1992 Ecocentric Records)
* Lost the Fight 7" (1993 Flat Earth/Nabate)
* Doomed to Extinction split 7" w/ Extinction of Mankind (1994 Ecocentric Records)
* Hail to Sweden 7" (1995 Pandora's Box)
* Pissed Robbed & Twatted - Live in Slovenia 7" (1996 Nuclear Sun Punk)
* Monarchy Zoo 7" (1996 Vinyl Japan)
* split 10" w/ Cress (1998 Flat Earth)

* War Crimes (Inhuman Beings) LP (1988 Peaceville Records)
* Bury the Debt - Not the Dead split LP w/ No Security (1989 Peaceville Records)
* Total Doom CD (1989 Peaceville Records)Jon Pickering (vocals); Bri Talbot (guitar); Peter Nash (bass guitar); Stick (drums).
* Doomed from the Start LP/CD (1992 Vinyl Japan)
* The Greatest Invention LP/CD (1992 Vinyl Japan)
* Pro-Life Control split LP/CD w/ Selfish (1994 Ecocentric Records)
* Fuck Peaceville 2xLP/CD (1995 Profane Existence)
* Monarchy Zoo CD (1996 Vinyl Japan)
* Rush Hour of the Gods LP/CD (1996 Flat Earth)
* World of Shit LP/CD (2001 Vinyl Japan)

* Peel Sessions CD (1996 Vinyl Japan)
* Back & Gone Double Live CD & DVD Live video (2006 MCR)
* A Vile Peace LP (1987 Peaceville Records)
* Hardcore Holocaust (The 87-88 Peel Sessions) LP (1988 Strange Fruit Records)
* Spleurk! LP (1988 Meantime Records)
* Volnitza: The Worst of the 1 in 12 Club Vol. 6/7 2xLP (1989 1 in 12 Records)
* Hardcore Holocaust II LP/tape (1990 Strange Fruit Records)
* Vile Vibes CD - (1990 Peaceville Records)
* Hardcore Resistance Tape - (1991 Heed the Ball!)
* Endless Struggle: The Worst of the 1 in 12 Club vol.
* Gay Pride 7" (1995 Rugger Bugger Records)
* Aftermath LP/CD (1999 Aftermath Records)


* Brian "Bri Doom " Talbot
* Denis Boardman
* Dave Talbot


* Jon Pickering
* Pete Nash
* Jim Whitley
* Paul "Mall" Mallen
* Scoot
* Denis Boardman
* Chris Gascoigne
* Andy Irving


* Jason Hodges
* Mick Harris
* Tony "Stick" Dickens


* Jon Pickering
* Tom Croft
* Wayne Southworth
* Karl Willets(Bolt Thrower)on Peel Session



Nema komentara:

Objavi komentar